- VIAF ID: 3968809
Showing 145 resultsPeople and organizations
Ruth Marion Bell (née Cooper) was a scholar, political scientist, and activist who received her BA in political economy from Trinity College in 1955. She was born on 29 November 1919 in Detroit, Michigan, to Roy Laurence Cooper and Olive Pearl (née O’Mulvenny). She attended St Clements School in Toronto and in 1955 received a BA in political economy from Trinity College. In 1965 she received an MA in Political Science from Carleton University.
Bell was committed to advancing opportunities for women and was a founding member and first chair of UNESCO's Sub-Commission on the Status of Women and a member of a series of International Federation of University Women's committees as well as more than 50 other organizations including the Canadian Research Institute for the Advancement of Women, the National and Ottawa Council of Women, and the Social Sciences & Humanities Research Council. She acted as the Dean of Renison College, University of Waterloo, and a lecturer in political science at the University of Waterloo, Carleton University, St. Patrick's College, and Algonquin College. In 2004 she published her autobiography Be A “Nice” Girl!: a Woman’s Journey in the 20th Century. In 1981 she was awarded the Order of Canada and in 2005 was awarded the Governor General’s Award in Commemoration of the Persons Case for her work on behalf of women. Bell was also awarded the City of Nepean's Distinguished Citizen Award in 1982, a Doctor of Laws honoris causa from Carleton University in 1984, Queen Elizabeth's Golden Jubilee Medal in 2002, Scotiabank Lifetime Achievement Award in 2007, and Carleton University's highest non-academic award, the Founders Award in 2008. In 2009 she was awarded a Doctor of Sacred Letters honoris causa, by Trinity College.
Ruth Bell married William Kirby Rolph in 1945 and travelled with him to New York, New Orleans, and Canberra, Australia where he died in 1953..
In 1963 Ruth Rolph married Richard Bell (1913-1988), who served as the Progressive Conservative representative of Carleton County in the Canadian House of Commons from 1957 to 1963 and 1965 to 1968. He was also the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration under Prime Minister John Diefenbaker from 1962 to 1963. His daughter, Judy Miriam Bell, a distinguished lawyer and judge, became a dear friend of Ruth’s; she died 11 March 2000.
Ruth M. Bell died on 16 December 2015 in Ottawa, Ontario.
George Ignatieff, diplomat and educator, was born in St. Petersburg, Russia, in 1913 and died on 10 August 1989 in Sherbrooke, Quebec. He was the son of Count Paul Ignatieff and Natalie Ignatieff (née Princess Mestchersky). The family fled to England in 1920 and came to Montreal in 1928. George Ignatieff entered Trinity College, Toronto, in 1932 and graduated with a B.A. in political science and economics in 1936. He was awarded a Rhodes Scholarship and received an M.A. from Oxford in 1938. At Lester B. Pearson's suggestion he wrote the Department of External Affairs examination in 1939, and in that year he began working at Canada House in London. He returned to Canada in 1944 and then went to New York City as a member of the Canadian delegation to the United Nations. He was ambassador to Yugoslavia from 1956 to 1958, assistant undersecretary of state for external affairs from 1960 to 1962, permanent representative to NATO in 1963, and ambassador to the UN from 1966 to 1969. In 1970 he became permanent representative of Canada to the UN at Geneva, a post he left in 1972 to become ninth provost and vice-chancellor of Trinity College for the period up to 1979. From 1980 to 1986 he was chancellor of the University of Toronto. He was the chair of the National Museums of Canada Board from 1973 to 1978, and in the 1980s was active in Science for Peace. He won the Pearson Peace Prize in 1984 and in 1985 the University of Toronto Press published his memoirs, "The Making of a Peacemonger."
George Ignatieff married (Jessie) Alison Grant (1916-1992) in 1944; the couple had two sons, Michael (b.1947) and Andrew (b.1952). George Ignatieff died on 10 August 1989 in Sherbrooke, Quebec.
Paul Grant Stanwood is a Professor of English specializing in literature from Renaissance and Reformation England. He was born April 25, 1933, in Des Moines, Iowa. After receiving a Bachelor of Arts in 1954 from the Iowa State Teachers College (now the University of Northern Iowa), he went on to continue his studies in English Language and Literature/Letters at the University of Michigan (Ann Arbor), where he obtained his MA in 1956 and PhD in 1961, and also studied abroad at the Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz in 1958-59. He began his teaching career at Tufts University in 1961, and has also at various times taught at the University of Michigan (Ann Arbor), the University of Cambridge, the University of York, and the Julius Maximilian University of Würzburg. However, he has been most active at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver, where he has been a Professor of English since 1975 and Professor Emeritus since 1998.
Stanwood’s specialization in English rests largely in Reformation-era literature and theology, which first materialized when he edited the last three parts of Richard Hooker’s signature work, Of the Laws of Ecclesiastical Polity. For this publication, he was part of a joint venture supported by the Folger Shakespeare Library to edit and republish the works of Hooker, which was headed by New York University Professor William Speed Hill (1935-2007), who served as general editor of this edition. Stanwood completed his editing of the Ecclesiastical Polity in 1981, which formed the third of five volumes that were published by Harvard University, and served on the editorial staff until the final volume’s publication in 1998.
Following this, Stanwood continued his investigations into English literature, publishing books on John Donne, John Milton, and Izaak Walton. His most recent work, Paul’s Cross and the Culture of Persuasion in England, 1520-1640, as well as Sermons at Paul’s Cross 1521-1642, was a collaboration with Torrance Kirby, Professor of Ecclesiastical History at McGill University. For his contributions to the study of the English language in the Renaissance and Reformation, Stanwood was made director of the Fourth International Milton Symposium at UBC in 1991, received a lifetime achievement award from the Canadian Society for Renaissance Studies in 2008, and variously served as President of the John Donne Society and President of the International Association of University Professors of English. His Sedgwick Lecture, delivered at UBC in March 2008, was published as John Donne and the Line of Wit: From Metaphysical to Modernist in 2009, following which he received the John Donne Society Distinguished Service Award in 2010. He also won accolades for his contributions to Anglican theological study, receiving an honorary Doctor of Sacred Letters degree from the University of Trinity College at the University of Toronto in 2003, and investment into the Order of the Diocese of New Westminster in November 2013.
Stanwood continues to teach at UBC, and lives in Vancouver. The university instituted a prize in his honour, the Paul G. Stanwood Prize, presented to PhD graduates in English with the best thesis.
Marguerite Joyce Jeffrey Finlay Mudge was born on 18 April 1906, likely in Niagara Falls, Ontario, to Francis Jeffrey Finlay and Elizabeth Forsyth. Mudge attended Stamford High School before entering Trinity College where she obtained a BA in 1928. After graduation, she worked at the University of Toronto, British Overseas Children, the office of Judge Edra Ferguson, Canadian Executive Services Overseas, and the Royal Canadian Institute.
Marguerite Joyce Jeffrey Finlay married Gordon Meade Mudge on 3 July 1937. Gordon Mudge was born on 1 January 1906 in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, to Arthur Langley Mudge and Kathleen Sophia Meade. Gordon Mudge entered Trinity College in 1924 and graduated with a BA in 1927. Gordon Mudge served as secretary-treasurer of the Royal Conservatory from 1956 until his death.
Joyce and Gordon Mudge had 3 children: Jeffrey, Graham, and Ramsey. Gordon Meade Mudge died on 8 June 1963 in Montreal and M. Joyce Mudge died on 18 October 2003 in Toronto.
Margaret Schuyler Machell was born about 1919 to Herbert Eric Machell and Kathleen Murray Alexander in Toronto, Ontario. She attended Bishop Strachan School until 1937 and worked as a switchboard operator at the Art Gallery of Ontario (AGO) in the late 1930s. Machell joined the gallery staff in 1941 and worked as membership and education secretary, co-ordinator of activity, and in volunteer activity. In 1970 she was appointed custodian of the Grange House Museum and archivist of the AGO. She was also the founder and president of the Ontario Museums Association and served as Ontario governor for the Northeast Conference of the American Association of Museums. She retired from the AGO in 1984 and was awarded the Ontario Museum Association Award of Excellence in 1986.
Margaret Machell died on 18 February 2015 in Toronto, Ontario.
John Wendell Holmes, diplomat, administrator, educator, and writer, was born in London, Ontario, on 18 June 1910 to William Wendell Holmes and Helen Morton. He received his BA from the University of Western Ontario and his MA from the University of Toronto and thereafter pursued graduate studies at the University of London (England). From 1941 to 1943 he was national secretary of the Canadian Institute of International Affairs.
In 1943 Holmes joined Canada’s Department of External Affairs. While in the foreign service he was first secretary in London, England, chargé d’affaires in Moscow, acting Canadian representative to the United Nations in New York, External Affairs member of the directing staff at the National Defence College (Kingston), and assistant under-secretary of state for external affairs supervising the work of the Far Eastern, United Nations, and Commonwealth Divisions.
In 1960 he left the public service to become president (a title later changed to director general) of the Canadian Institute of International Affairs (CIIA). He relinquished that position in 1973 but remained associated with the Institute as counselor until his death.
Holmes was a visiting professor of international relations at the University of Toronto (1966-1988), a professor of international relations at Glendon College, York University (1971-1982), and a visiting professor at the University of Leeds (1979, 1985).
Holmes was the author of numerous articles and book chapters as well as several books: <i>Some Aspects of Mediation </i>(1970), <i>The Better Part of Valour </i>(1970), <i>Canada: A Middle-Aged Power </i>(1976), <i>The Shaping of Peace: Canada and the Search for World Order 1943-1957 </i>(2 vols. 1979 & 1982), <i>Life with Uncle: the Canadian-American Relationship </i>(1981).
In 1969 Holmes was made an officer of the Order Canada. In 1977 he became a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and in 1986 received the society’s Tyrrell medal. He was the recipient of eleven honorary degrees, an honorary fellow of Trinity College (1983) and a member of Pickering College’s Class of 1842.
He died on 13 August 1988 in London, Ontario.
John Strachan, Anglican clergyman, bishop, and educator, was born on 12 April 1778 at Aberdeen, Scotland, and died on 1 November 1867 in Toronto, Ontario. He attended Aberdeen Grammar School and King's College, Aberdeen, but turned to teaching after his father died in 1794. In the fall of 1796 Strachan returned to Aberdeen and graduated with an A.M. in March 1797. In 1799 Strachan accepted a teaching position in Upper Canada, arriving at Kingston on 31 December.
He began tutoring the children of prominent townspeople, including those of Richard Cartwright. In 1803 Bishop Jacob Mountain ordained Strachan as a deacon, and he became a
priest in 1804. He was given the mission at Cornwall, where he soon began taking students and set up a school. In 1807 he married Ann Wood McGill, the widow of Andrew McGill, a member of a prominent Montreal mercantile family, and they had nine children, James McGill, Elizabeth (died in infancy), George Cartwright, Elizabeth Mary, John, Alexander Wood, two daughters who died in infancy, and Agnes (who died at 16).
In 1811 Strachan received an honorary D.D. from the University of Aberdeen (in 1829 he received an LL.D. from St Andrews University). The same year, he advised James McGill of
Montreal to leave his extensive property to the cause of education; provisions were made that led to the founding of McGill University. Also in 1811, Strachan was offered the rectorship of York (Toronto) and the chaplaincy of the garrison and of the Legislative Council.
Strachan arrived at York in June 1812, just as the United States and Great Britain were going to war, and he played a pivotal role during two successful invasions by U.S. forces, negotiating the terms of capitulation. He was made an honorary member of the Executive Council in 1815 and then served as a regular member from 1817 to 1836 and as a member of the Legislative Council from 1820 to 1841. In 1822 Strachan, who was headmaster of the York Grammar School, became president of the newly established General Board of Education. Interested in establishing a university in Upper Canada, Strachan travelled to England in 1826 and in 1827, when he obtained a royal charter for the University of King's College. Strachan was appointed archdeacon of York in 1827.
In 1839 the Diocese of Quebec was split and Strachan became bishop of the new Diocese of Toronto. After many difficulties King's College was finally opened in 1843. However, the Church of England's influence on the new university had been reduced well in advance of the opening, and in 1842 Strachan, foreseeing future difficulties, had founded the Diocesan Theological Institution at Cobourg for the training of clergy. In 1848 he resigned as president of King's College, which was secularized and brought under government control the following year, becoming the University of Toronto on 1 January 1850. Strachan then set about to found an Anglican university and after another trip to England to raise funds and obtain a charter, the cornerstone of the University of Trinity College was laid on 30 April 1851. Classes began in January 1852. Strachan accepted the election of a coadjutor bishop in 1866. He died the following year.
John Ambery, academic, was born in April 1828 in Manchester, England, and died in 1878 in England. He attended the Manchester Grammar School and Brasenose College, Oxford. Upon graduation, he was appointed Professor of Classics in St. Andrew's College, Bradford, England. In 1856 John Ambery left England and was appointed Lecturer in Classics at Trinity College, Toronto. Two years later he moved to the Toronto Grammar School as classical master. He also held the position of Inspector of Grammar Schools and was a member of the Council of Education. Ambery returned to Trinity in 1863, holding the dual post of Professor of Classics and Dean of Residence until 1875, when he was compelled by ill health to resign.
In 1858 he married Henrietta Frederick Foster, youngest daughter of Colonel Colley Lyons Lucas Foster. They had four children: Ellen Marian, Charles Clayton, Edward Foster, and John Willis. In 1876 he was appointed to the Chair of Classics at Bishops College, Lennoxville, Quebec, In 1878 he returned to England.
[Source: Biographical sketch of John Ambery by his son, Edward Foster Ambery in F2067, Irving
H. Cameron fonds, Trinity College Archives.]
Graham W. Owen, architect, historian, editor and professor, currently lives in New Orleans, Louisiana. He attended Trinity College, University of Toronto, in the mid-1970s and received his BA in 1977. He then obtained a BArch in 1983 from the University Of Toronto School Of Architecture and a MDes from the Harvard University Graduate School of Design in 1990. From 1988 to 1996 he taught at the University Of Toronto School Of Architecture and in 1996-1997 he taught at the Illinois Institute of Technology. He is currently an Associate Professor of Architecture at Tulane University in New Orleans. He has published ‘Civic Leadership, Civil Society and Citizenship’ and Architecture, Ethics, and Globalization (2009).
George Whitaker, Anglican clergyman and educator, was born 9 October 1811 at the Manor Farm, Bratton, Wiltshire, England. He was from a large Baptist family, the eighth child of Philip Whitaker, a farmer, and Anne (née Andrews). His siblings included Alfred (b. 1799), Joshua (b. 1801), Edward (b. 1802), Philip (b. 1803), Emma (b. 1805), Anne (b. 1807), John (b. 1810), and Edwin Eugene (b. 1814).
He attended Frome Grammar School and Charterhouse School and matriculated at Queens’ College, Cambridge 4 July 1829 as a pensioner. He graduated in 1833 with a first class Classical Tripos, with honours in classics and mathematics. He was made a Classical Fellow in 1834, a lecturer in classics in 1835, and received an M.A. in 1836. He became a member of the Church of England, and was baptised at Bratton Parish Church 11 October 1832. He was ordained deacon on 4 June 1837 and priest on 27 May 1838, both instances by the Bishop of Ely.
He left Queens’ College in 1840 upon his appointment as vicar to the college living of Oakington, Cambridgeshire. He married Arundel Charlotte Burton, the daughter of the Rev. Richard Burton, a Baptist missionary, at the Parish Church of St. Saviour, Bath, Somerset 22 October 1844. They had at least eight children, of which George Herbert (b. 1847), Bertha (b.1848), Ernest (b. 1849), Emma (b. 1850), Agnes (b. 1853), Margaret Ann (b. 1856), and Edith Dora (b. 1861) were known to have survived.
In 1851 Whitaker was selected to become the first Provost and Professor of Divinity at the University of Trinity College, Toronto by a panel of four eminent clergymen working at the behest of Bishop John Strachan, known as the Trinity College Committee in London. He arrived in Toronto in November of that year, and his appointment was officially confirmed on 8 December.
Whitaker became involved in the ongoing controversy between the high and low factions of the Anglican Church when his theological teachings were attacked in 1860 by Benjamin Cronyn, Bishop of Huron, on the grounds that they were anti-Protestant. While the accusations were rebuffed, Whitaker and Trinity College remained central in the various factional disputes throughout the 1860s and 1870s.
Whitaker was a candidate for coadjutor bishop to John Strachan in September 1866, but withdrew his name, leading to Alexander Neil Bethune’s election. On 1 October 1875, Bethune appointed Whitaker archdeacon of York. He was a candidate for coadjutor bishop to Bethune in February 1878, but Bethune was ultimately forced to call off the election due to Evangelical lay opposition. In February 1879, upon the death of Bethune, Whitaker was again an unsuccessful candidate in the election to the Bishopric of Toronto. At the beginning of Michaelmas Term of that same year, he announced that he had been offered by the Bishop of Salisbury the rectorship of the parish of Newton Toney, Wiltshire, a living in the gift of his alma mater, Queen’s College. Whitaker left Toronto for England 30 May 1881, and the Rev. Charles William Edmund Body took up the Provostship in October.
George Whitaker died suddenly 27 August 1882 at Devany House, The Close, Salisbury at the age of 70. He is buried at the Parish Church of St. Andrew in Newton Toney, Wiltshire.
[Sources: Headon, C. F. "Whitaker, George" in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, Vol. 11 (Toronto, 1982), Reed, T. A. (ed.) A History of the University of Trinity College, Toronto, 1852-1952 (Toronto, 1952), Reeves, M. E. “George Whitaker (1811-1882): A Forgotten Native of Bratton” in Wiltshire Archaeological, Magazine, 72/73 (Devizes, 1980): 135-139, Westfall, W. The Founding Moment: Church, Society, and the Construction of Trinity College (Montreal & Kingston, 2002)]
George Warren was an Anglican clergyman who was born in 1862 in Banbury, England. He received his early education at Banbury Academy before travelling to the United States for three years. He received his BA from Trinity College in 1888. He was ordained in 1889 and until 1906 served as rector at Lakefield. From 1905 to 1920 he served as the Archdeacon of Peterborough while also serving as the Organizing Secretary of the Diocese of Toronto. In 1920 he was named Archdeacon of York and in 1932 was presented with a Doctor of Divinity, honoris causa by Trinity College. In his career with the Anglican Church Warren was involved in the debate over the existence of separate schools in Ontario and wrote an article entitled “The Separate School Question” in the 18 July 1935 issue of the Canadian Churchman.
In 1889 George Warren married Ada Emily Hutcheson (daughter of Ada Louise and John Howell Hutcheson). They had two children: Edward Warren and Ada Mary Warren (who married James Matthias Snetsinger). Emily Hutcheson died in 1916 in Toronto and George Warren died on 16 April 1946 in Toronto.
Arthur Henshaw Packer, sculptor, artist, designer, carver, was born on 11 May 1888 at Trowbridge, Wiltshire, England. He studied art and architecture in Bath, England and as a part of his training, did a number of carvings on public buildings around the Bath area. In 1910, after the completion of his course study, he immigrated to Winnipeg, Manitoba, joining his family who had arrived in Canada in 1907.
Upon arrival, he worked at the DeKew Company, which supplied ornamental stone and mouldings. Packer also worked on a number of small commissions, such as the carvings on Gaiety Theatre [1912?] and Marlborough Hotel [1913?] in Winnipeg. In 1913, he married his fiancée Kate Edith Cox (1886-1943) shortly after her emigration from Bournemouth, England. Packer and his wife had one daughter, June K. Ridley (1914-2001).
Packer received the commission to carve the reliefs on the tympanum of the Winnipeg Law Court around 1914. After 1914, he became a homesteader, owning a farm on the Peguis First Nations Reserve with his extended family. In 1917, he began working as a school teacher on the reserve. Around 1935, he moved with his wife, daughter and son-in-law to Toronto, where he once again took up sculpting and carving. He designed and constructed a series of English Cottage style homes in the Kingsway area in west Toronto with his son-in-law. In 1941 he accepted the commission from Trinity College to carve the portraits of King George VI, Queen Elizabeth, Archbishop Owen and the Provost Cosgrave in the Trinity Quadrangle. He may have worked on the bas reliefs and the coat of arms on the former Postal Building at 40 Bay St. (now the Air Canada Center) around 1938 and he contributed to the carving of the QEW Monument in 1939. He is also thought to have carved the Canadian Coat of Arms on the Rainbow Bridge at Niagara Falls in 1942.
During the war period he worked for the DeHavilland Aircraft Company, modelling parts of planes. He continued to work on private commissions after 1945. Packer died in 1953 at his home in Toronto.
Alexander Neil Bethune was born on 28 August 1800 at Williamstown, Charlottenburg Township, Upper Canada, and died on 3 February 1879 at Toronto, Ontario. He married Jane Eliza Crooks and had ten children.
From 1810 to 1812 Alexander Neil was a student at the grammar school run by the Reverend John Strachan at Cornwall, Upper Canada. His movements from 1812 to 1819 are not known for certain, but in the autumn of 1819 he wrote from Montreal that he had determined to go to York “to place himself under the care and direction of Dr. Strachan.” From 1819 to 1823 Bethune remained at York as a student of divinity supported by the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel. He was made a deacon by Bishop Jacob Mountain on 24 August 1823 and priest on 26 September 1824. He had charge of the parish of The Forty (Grimsby)and an out-station at Twelve Mile Creek (St. Catharines). In 1827 Bethune became the incumbent of the parish of Cobourg; he was later its rector and served there until 1867.
In 1831 he made the first of a number of trips to England on behalf of the Church of England in the colony, on this occasion in support of the University of King‟s College (later the University of Toronto) and the Church of England‟s rights to the clergy reserves in Upper Canada, questions on which his views resembled closely those of Strachan.
While at Cobourg, Bethune became first editor of The Church, a weekly newspaper that began publication on 6 May 1837. The newspaper‟s founding came from the need to rally Church support for its stand on the clergy reserves. Bethune had made a careful study of the whole question, and Strachan, chairman of the newspaper‟s committee, found in Bethune a man whom he could trust and in whom he could confide. Indeed Strachan directed much of the editorial policy.
When the diocese of Toronto was carved out of that of Quebec in 1839, Strachan became its first bishop and he appointed Bethune as one of his chaplains. In October 1841 Strachan asked his chaplains (Bethune, Henry James Grasett, and Henry Scadding) to draw up a plan for training divinity students pending the establishment of a regular college. The plan was submitted, and on 27 November Strachan announced the appointment of Bethune, though he did not have a degree, as professor of theology. The Diocesan Theological Institution opened in Cobourg in January 1842 with 15 students but was attended by indifferent success and considerable controversy and ten years later was merged with the University of Trinity College.
In 1845 Strachan appointed Bethune his ecclesiastical commissary for the archdeaconry of York with the title of “the Reverend Official.” In 1847, upon Strachan‟s resignation, Bethune became archdeacon of York. He gave up the editorship of The Church while remaining principal of the college. As Strachan‟s chief administrative assistant, he made regular visitations of the parishes, checking church buildings and rectories, reviewing parish registers, advising on pastoral problems, and making reports to the bishop.
Strachan prevailed upon King‟s College, Aberdeen, to confer upon his archdeacon the degree of doctor of divinity in 1847; ten years later Trinity College conferred upon him the honorary degree of Doctor of Canon Law. In the spring of 1852 Bethune went to England at Strachan‟s bidding to raise financial support for Trinity College. Bethune was also his church‟s spokesman in England during the final battle over the clergy reserves. He met with limited success in both tasks. When the diocese of Toronto was subdivided in 1857 and again in 1862, Bethune lost both episcopal elections to local canadidates in part because opposition in the Church to Strachan spilled over onto Bethune. However in 1866 Strachan requested a coadjutor and on 21 September Bethune was elected (after the withdrawal of George Whitaker, the provost of Trinity College). Bethune took the title of bishop of Niagara and was consecrated by Strachan on 25 January 1867. Later that year Bethune represented the diocese of Toronto in place of the failing Strachan at the first Lambeth Conference. He returned to Toronto just before Strachan‟s funeral on 5 November. Bethune succeeded his mentor on 1 November 1867, resigning both the rectory of Cobourg and the archdeaconry of York. He continued as bishop of Toronto until his death in 1879.
Beatrice Mary Scott Turner, educator and volunteer, was born about 1899 in Millbrook, Ontario. She was the daughter of Henry Allen Turner Jr (died 1951), a graduate of Trinity Medical College, and Alice Jane Scott. Turner received her early education in Millbrook and entered Trinity College in 1915. After graduating with a BA in 1919 she lived in Hamilton and taught at Kingsthorpe, a private girls’ school. She then returned to Millbrook to care for her mother and while there took an active interest in the community, especially her church and the local branch of the Red Cross. She eventually settled in Toronto and was active in the St Hilda’s College Alumnae Association and was Year Group Convenor for the years prior to 1922. She kept the Alumnae well informed of College activities either personally or by correspondence as well as keeping Convocation up to date with news of alumnae. In 1975 she was elected to the Corporation of Trinity College. She was involved in the Altar Guild and the Women’s Auxiliary at the Church of St Alban the Martyr and worked closely with St Andrew’s Japanese Congregation. She was made a life member of the Women’s Auxiliary of the Diocese of Toronto and was an active member of the Diocesan Chancel Guild. At the time of her death she was a member of Christ Church, Deer Park. She died at Toronto on 12 August 1978.
Beverley Jones was a lawyer who was born 11 June 1839 in Brockville, Ontario, one of three children of Sidney Jones and Susan Ford. Jones was educated at Brockville Grammar School and Upper Canada College before graduating with a BA from Trinity College in 1860 and an MA from Trinity College in 1877. He was called to the bar (Osgoode) in 1864 and began working in the office of his cousins, Jones Brothers. In 1961 he enlisted in the volunteers at Brockville during the Trent Excitement and served in the Queen’s Own Rifles during the Fenian Raid of 1866.
In 1864 Jones joined the Canada Permanent Mortgage Co. as a solicitor and remained in an advisory role there until his death. In 1873 Jones became the bursar of Bishop Strachan School, a private school for girls in Toronto. Jones served as a delegate to the diocesan synod for nearly 50 years as a representative of the congregation of St. George’s Church, served as secretary of the Canada Law Amendment Association, and was one of the founders of the Industrial Schools Association, serving as treasurer for 30 years. Jones was committed to providing homes for children and established industrial schools for boys and girls, founding the Victoria and Alexandra schools in Mimico and East Toronto. In Jones 1888 drafted the bill known as the Juvenile Offenders Act which provided for a separate trial for juveniles and allowed children under age fourteen to be committed to certain institutions or charitable societies to be taken care of and educated. Beverley Jones died in Toronto, Ontario in 1934, at age 95.
- Corporate body
A Trinity College Arts and Letters club was formed in the autumn of 1946. It was the umbrella organization which, de facto, superintended the co-educational recreational activities of several of the college's academic departments. Academic staff and students participated in meetings held by various groups loosely affiliated with a specific faculty. These were meetings of anyone in the community who expressed an interest in fine art, music, literature or philosophy as well as other arts endeavours. The meetings of the philosophy discussion group were spearheaded by Dr George Edison and were, from the first, very popular. It is perhaps due to the unexpected popularity of the group that Edison encouraged students to form a philosophical society. In September 1946 they did so, naming their society after George Sidney Brett, head of the Department of Philosophy at the University of Toronto from 1919 until his death and a professor active in the Trinity community. He had died suddenly at his home on 27 October 1944 and was remembered fondly by many students still attending the college.
Once formed, the Brett Club seemed to fall almost immediately into a slow decline, perhaps exacerbated by the emphasis that the club was "restricted to those students genuinely interested in philosophy" (Review, August 1947). It failed to form a constitution in the 1940s and was quickly regarded by the college community at large as "a certain species of cult to which new participants are admitted only upon invitation" (Review, summer 1949). The Arts and Letters Club was still functioning and included philosophical discussions which were more accessible.
However, the Brett Club was revitalized in the 1967-1968 academic session, apparently through the efforts of its new president, Derek Allen (BA 1968, Head of Arts 1967-1968 and Rhodes Scholar). It fashioned itself in a variety of forms over the intervening years, holding both open and closed meetings. The Brett Club convened any number of times a year, invariably to discuss with an academic a sophisticated philosophical question or concept.
Carolyn Purden, reporter, editor and communications consultant, was born in 1941 in Solihull, Warwickshire, England, to Patrick and Irene Purden and has a younger sister Christine. She came to Canada in 1952 and attended Havergal College from 1954 to 1959. She then attended Trinity College, graduating in 1962. She was married to David Greenwood from 1964 to 1973, and to the Rev. Tom Anthony from 1973 to 1980. She has two children, Stephen born in 1976 and Jennifer born in 1979.
As a reporter with the Canadian Churchman, Purden attended the 1968 Lambeth Conference where the ordination of women as deacons was debated. She became a strong advocate of women’s ordination issues through feature articles and editorials. Rising through the ranks at the Canadian Churchman, she covered the issue of women’s ordination as it was debated at the church’s triennial General Synod; National Executive Council (the predecessor of the Council of General Synod); and Canadian diocesan synods. She attended the Church of England General Synod, and other international Anglican gatherings, to cover their debates on the ordination of women. She interviewed archbishops, bishops, and a number of women who felt their vocation as priests had been denied them. In 1974 she attended the irregular ordination of the ‘Philadelphia Eleven’ and reported first hand on that event and its prolonged legal and theological aftermath in the Episcopal Church. She wrote on the subject of ordination to the priesthood for several overseas publications. After Canada began ordaining women as priests, she covered the issue of women in the episcopacy up to and including the ordination of Canada’s first woman bishop, Victoria Matthews.
Carolyn Purden is the president of Purden Communications, a corporate communications consulting service, in Toronto.
The Cartwrights were a prominent Upper Canadian Loyalist family, living in the Kingston area and later in York (Toronto). The Hon. Richard Cartwright Jr. (1759-1815) had twin sons, Robert David Cartwright (1804-1843), an Anglican minister, and John Solomon Cartwright (1804-1845), a Kingston lawyer who became involved in banking, real estate, and politics. The youngest of John Solomon Cartwright’s children was John Robison Cartwright (1842-1919), a lawyer who became deputy attorney general of Ontario.
In June 1868, John Robison Cartwright married Emily Boulton (1845-1920), in Cobourg, Ontario. Emily’s grandfather, D’Arcy Edward Boulton (1785-1846) had built The Grange in Toronto as his family home. Her father D’Arcy Edward Boulton (1814-1902) and mother Emily Mary Caroline Heath married in 1838 and raised their ten children at their home, known as The Lawn, in Cobourg. D’Arcy was a lawyer active in town affairs, serving as mayor of Cobourg from 1854 to 1857. John Robison Cartwright and Emily Boulton Cartwright had six children: Mabel (1869-1955), John Macaulay Boulton (1872-1877), Stephen Hayter (1875-1909), Ralph Bingham (1877-1899), Edwin Aubrey (1879-1951), and Winifred Macaulay (1883-1953).
Their first child, Mabel Cartwright, was born in Kingston, Ontario, in 1869. She grew up in Toronto and later went to England where she was educated at Cheltenham Ladies’ College and Lady Margaret Hall, Oxford University. Mabel earned honours in the School of Modern History, taught in Oxford High School and, upon her return to Toronto, at Bishop Strachan School for four years. In 1903 she was appointed the second Lady Principal and in 1925 Dean of Women at St. Hilda’s residence, Trinity College. She taught English at Trinity College until her retirement in 1936. In 1925 she was granted a Doctor of Laws (honoris causa) by the University of Toronto. Through the years she held numerous posts including that of president of the Women's Auxiliary of the Diocese of Toronto.
Charles Davidson Gossage was a doctor born about 1901 in Toronto, Ontario, to C.A. Gossage and Georgina Davidson. Gossage attended Jarvis Collegiate Institute before entering Trinity College in September 1917. Gossage entered medical school in 1919 and graduated from the University of Toronto with an MB in 1924. In September 1939 Gossage went into active service with the Royal Canadian Army Medical Corps and received the Order of the British Empire in December 1944. In 1950, Gossage, then director of the University Health Service announced that he would give free medical care for injuries suffered in almost any university-sponsored athletic activity. In 1971 Gossage was appointed Esquire Bedell of Trinity College.
Dr. Gossage married Shirley West on 20 June 1934 in Westminster Central Church, Toronto. They had three children, Richard Cheyne, John, and Charles Patrick (BA Trinity College, 1961). He died on 3 September, 1985.
Dr. Charles Edward Stanbury, raised and educated in Toronto, was a practicing physician in Chicago, Illinois during the later part of his life. He was born in 1863 in Cornwall, England, son of Henry Stanbury and Susanne Free, who settled in the town of Yorkville. In 1881 Stanbury was living in the St. James Ward area of Toronto and in 1891 was employed as a stenographer. He graduated from Trinity College Medical School in 1897, at the age of 34. About 1904 Charles left Toronto. According to Ellis Island Passenger arrival lists, Dr. Stanbury arrived in the United States from Vera Cruz, Mexico in 1904. He subsequently settled and practiced in Chicago.
Stanbury was married to Amanda Nourse and had four children in Toronto: Charles H., Amanda Joy, Ewart D., and Bessie Bernice. Dr. Stanbury returned to the United States from Mexico accompanied by a second wife, Olive (nee Peterson). Amanda Nourse Stanbury remained in Toronto with their children and died in Toronto at age 73. Charles Stanbury died in Chicago on July 12, 1938 and is buried in the Rosehill Cemetery.
Christine Brown was a fourth year student in anthropology in 1996-97 at Trinity College Toronto.
The Clarksons were a prominent Toronto family associated with the accounting and stock brokerage firm, Clarkson Gordon. The majority of the records in this fonds pertains to Alice Amelia Clarkson (née Baines, 14 December 1881 - 10 March 1964), daughter of Mary Louise Baines (née Conventay, 1858-1933) and Christopher C. Baines (b. 1846), and her descendants. Alice Clarkson, sometimes referred to as Vally, attended Bishop Strachan School before enrolling at Trinity College in 1901. She graduated with a B.A. in 1904. Alice Clarkson’s sister, Marguerite Baines (1884-1951?), a frequent and constant correspondent of her sister, never married and lived with her mother. Marguerite and Alice would often accompany Mary Baines on her frequent travels to Europe, Asia, and the United States. By the 1920s, Marguerite and her mother would take up permanent residence in Vancouver.
Alice Clarkson married Frederick Curzon Clarkson (3 December 1880-6 August 1951), son of Amy Lambe Clarkson (1852-1925) and Edward Roper Clarkson (1852-1931) on 7 October 1909. For the majority of their married life they lived at 58 Admiral Road in Toronto. Frederick Clarkson worked for his father’s accounting firm, E.R.C Clarkson and Sons, later Clarkson Gordon & Co.
Alice and Frederick Clarkson had three children, Margaret Eleanor Clarkson (b. 8 May 1912), Frederick Curzon Clarkson (1914-1973?), and Cuthbert B. Clarkson (b. 1920). Margaret (Margot) Clarkson studied at Ovenden College, Barrie, before attending Trinity College in 1929. She graduated with a B.A in 1933. She never married and became a social worker based in New York City in the 1940s. Like her mother and grandmother, she travelled extensively in her youth during the 1930s.
Curzon Clarkson attended Lakefield Preparatory School as a child and entered Trinity College in September of 1933, where he stayed until May of 1934. In September 1934 he transferred to a vocational training school in Detroit, Michigan, most likely the General Motors Institute. Curzon married Mary Louise Porter with whom he had two children: Frederick (Rick) Clarkson (1944?-1998) and Pegi Clarkson (d. 2014). He settled in St. Catharines, Ontario, with his family.
Cuthbert Clarkson attended Upper Canada College and Queen’s University. In 1941 he joined the Royal Canadian Ordnance Corps and served overseas in Britain most likely from 1943 to 1946. His marital status is unknown. He appears to have resided with his mother, Alice Clarkson, during the final two decades of her life.
David Wight Nicholls, businessman and photographer, was born in 1934 and died on 4 April 1995. He studied at the University of Toronto Schools before coming to Trinity College. He graduated with a B.A. in 1958 and in 1959 he married Hilary Warren. Nicholls worked for Royal, Montreal, and Canada Trust companies in Montreal, Saint John, and Toronto before retiring in 1987 and devoting more time to photography, which had been a long-time interest. He became a member of the Photographic Society of America in 1983, and was active in the National Association of Photographic Art, the Toronto Guild for Colour Photography, and the Toronto Camera Club, which he guided through its centennial year as president. He also served as president of the Greater Toronto Council of Camera Clubs. In 1990 he became a licentiate of the Royal Photographic Society in Great Britain. He participated in a number of group shows in Canada and Great Britain, and had two one-man shows in Canada. He also had work published in "The Photography Yearbook" (1993). He photographed many parts of Trinity College, and at the time of his death had almost completed a series of photographs of St. James Cemetery, taken as part of the celebration of the 150th anniversary of its consecration by Bishop John Strachan. He served on the Corporation of Trinity College and was a member of the Executive Committee of Convocation. Along with Hilary, he was a strong supporter of the Thomas Fisher Library and the Osborne Collection, and he was especially generous with the Friends of the Library, Trinity College, of which he was treasurer for several years.
- Corporate body
The Divinity 150 Project (Div 150) was started in 1987 by co-directors William Westfall and Thomas McIntire. Its goal was to research the biography, education, and professional careers of the students who had studied divinity at the Diocesan Theological Institute at Cobourg and at Trinity College to commemorate the sesquicentennial of Trinity College’s Faculty of Divinity in 1992. The project concluded in 1993 with a colloquium on the theological and social formation of the clergy in Canada.
A number of research assistants working on the project. Meredith Hill was responsible for studying divinity students from 1914 to 1960 and female students prior to 1969, while Robert Black researched students from 1842, when the Diocesan Theological Institute at Cobourg was founded, to 1914. Wendy Fletcher conducted oral history interviews of living graduates with help from the Reverend John Bailey in Vancouver. William Westfall worked on a history of the Diocesan Theological Institute and collected essays on the history of the Anglican clergy to publish with this work. A number of students also helped with the input of data into a database that allowed for the analysis of the ecclesiastical, regional, social, and economic profile of Trinity Divinity students.
The project used a number of sources for its research. Current students and living graduates were asked to complete a biographical research form and a survey of attitudes, influences, and assessments, and Wendy Fletcher conducted oral history interviews of select graduates. Research on deceased students used college admission, matriculation, and degree records, Crockford’s Clerical Dictionary, local and provincial directories, and various archival sources. The project was funded by Trinity College, the Anglican Foundation, the Cassidy Fund, the University of Toronto Department of History, the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada, York University, the Lilly Endowment, and the Divinity Associates.
The Divinity 150 Project also organized a number of celebratory events to mark the sesquicentennial. Events included a Service of Recollection and Thanksgiving for 150 Years of Theological Education, held in Trinity College Chapel on 23 April 1992, a march to Old Trinity, a trip to Cobourg, and an exhibit of artefacts and documents. The project also sold commemorative mugs to alumni.
- Corporate body
For two nights in June 1946, the Earle Grey Players staged a production of Shakespeare’s <i>Twelfth Night</i> on the north terrace of the Trinity College quadrangle with the support of the Provost of Trinity College Dr. R.S.K. Seeley. The company of players was founded by Earle Grey and his wife Mary Godwin, British actors with a wealth of theatrical experience who moved to Canada in the early 1940s. They established the Earle Grey Players with the goal of cultivating an appreciation for Shakespeare in Canada and presenting Shakespeare’s plays in a way closely aligned with the original spirit and intent of the playwright. The critical success of <i>Twelfth Night</i> led to productions in other locations and in the following summer of 1947, audience demand resulted in the presentation of <i>A Midsummer Night’s Dream</i> for five nights at Trinity College. Also in 1947, plays were staged at Central High School of Commerce which initiated a series of school productions in support of the founders desire to bring the stimulation and excitement of Shakespearean drama to school audiences.
On June 27th, 1949, at Trinity College, the Earle Grey Players opened the first official Shakespeare Festival with a production of <i>As You Like It.</i> Revealing the significance of the event for the cultural life of Toronto, the festival was opened by the Lieutenant-Governor of Ontario and Mrs. Ray Lawson and had the backing of City Council and tourist associations as well as growing press coverage. With the broader goal of representing Shakespeare’s time, free Elizabethan music concerts using period instruments were added to the festival programme as well as an exhibit in the Trinity College Entrance Hall of books and prints relating to Shakespeare. In support of the Shakespeare Festival, both the Royal Ontario Museum and the Toronto Art Gallery put on exhibits and displays of pottery, furniture, costumes, photographs and prints relevant to Shakespearean times.
In 1950 four comedies were produced at the Festival and the Earle Grey Players expanded their tour of Shakespearean productions to other locations and high schools. In 1951, the Trustees of Shakespeare’s Birthplace (Stratford-Upon-Avon) presented a mulberry tree to the Festival which was planted in the Trinity quadrangle. By 1951 there was a growing wardrobe department under the direction of former Hart House Theatre Designer and Assistant Director Mabel Letchford who developed an extensive Elizabethan wardrobe including articles donated by renowned English actors. As news of the Festival’s existence had travelled to England, donations of theatrical suits of armour and other items began to arrive.
The first effort to present a Shakespearean tragedy was in 1952. <i>Julius Caesar</i> was presented to great acclaim. With audiences continuing to grow, the Earle Grey Players took Shakespeare’s plays to more than 24 high schools. For the 1952 season the Festival displayed a rare First Folio of Shakespeare’s plays printed in 1623, a donation from the Folger Library in Washington and the first instance of a First Folio on Canadian soil.
By 1953 and 1954, the Festival had expanded to five weeks of productions, a more permanent stage had been built, well known musicians were playing in the free Elizabethan music concerts, and the Earle Grey Players toured schools in locations as far away as the Maritimes. The school tours were arguably the most valuable contribution of the Earle Grey Players as they provided students with their first opportunity to see live performances of Shakespeare’s plays. By 1956, the school tours function of the Earle Grey Players required the Players to undertake 10 weeks of travel through Ontario’s smaller towns.
The Earle Grey Players Shakespeare Festival was produced annually until 1959, when renovations at Trinity College necessitated finding a new home for the festival. When nothing materialized, Mary Godwin and Earle Grey returned to England and continued acting until their respective deaths in 1971 and 1978.
Edgar William Pickford, Anglican clergyman, was born in 1866. He entered Trinity College, Toronto, in 1889 and completed the divinity course. Pickford was ordained deacon in 1892 and priest in 1893 and became rector at Brighton, Ontario. In 1910 he obtained a BA from Trinity College. He died in June 1926.
Frederick Kenneth Hare was a climatologist, academic and the tenth Provost of Trinity College. Hare was born on 5 February, 1919, in Wylye, England, to Frederick Eli Hare and Irene Smith. Hare was educated at Windsor Grammar School, King’s College at the University of London (BSc 1939), and the University of Montreal where he received his PhD in geography in 1950.
Hare taught at the University of Manchester from 1940 to 1941 before serving as an operational meteorologist in the Air Ministry from 1941 to 1945. In 1945 he was appointed to teach at McGill University and later became the chairman of the Geography Department (1950-1962) and the Dean of Arts and Science (1962-64). He returned to London where he was Professor of Geography at King's College, University of London (1964-66) and Master of Birkbeck College (1966-68). He was President of the University of British Columbia from 1968 to 1969 before becoming a professor of geography and physics at the University of Toronto from 1969 to 1979 as well as Director of the Institute for Environmental Studies from 1974 to 1979. He became Provost of Trinity College in 1979 and remained in that position until 1986. He also served as Chairman of the Canadian Climate Program Planning Board (1979-90), Co-Chair of the National Academy of Science (U.S.A.)/Royal Society of Canada Study of Acid Precipitation (1980-82), Chair of the Peer Review of the Canadian government's Long-Range Transport of Airborne Pollutants (LRTAP) Program at the Royal Society of Canada (1983-84), head of a study of the nuclear winter phenomenon, RSC (1984), on the Commission on Lead in the Canadian Environment, RSC, Commissioner of the Ontario Nuclear Safety Review (1987-88), Chancellor of Trent University (1988-95), Chair of the Canadian Global Change Program Board, RSC (1989), member of the Board of Directors of the Canadian Institute for Research in Atmospheric Chemistry (1990-93), Chair of the Advisory Board of the Institute of International Programs, University of Toronto (1990-94), member of the Advisory Panel on Research and Development of Atomic Energy of Canada Limited (1991-95), and Chair of the Technical Advisory Panel on Nuclear Safety, Ontario Hydro (1991-94).
Hare was the author of The Restless Atmosphere (1953), On University Freedom (1967), and the co-author of Climate Canada (1974) as well as many articles in scientific journals on climatic, meteorological, and geographic issues. Hare was an Honorary Fellow of Trinity College (1991), a Companion of the Order of Canada (1987), and Companion of the Order of Ontario (1989).
Hare married Suzanne Bates on 23 August, 1941; together they had one son, Christopher John (b. 23 November 1941). They divorced in 1952 and Hare married Helen Morrill on 26 December 1953. They had two children, Elissa Beatrice (b. 13 November 1955), and Robin Gilbert (b. 26 May 1958). Hare died on 3 September 2002 at his home in Oakville, Ontario.
Florence Elizabeth Westacott, was born in March 1877, apparently in Toronto, Ontario, the daughter of George Westacott and Alice Sheen. She entered Trinity College in 1903 and graduated with a BA in 1906 and an MA in 1907. She published poems in the Westminster Magazine, the Globe, and in a small volume, The City Dweller and Other Poems (1935). She won the Victorian Order of Nurses contest for best play in 1934 for Someone Steps In. In 1935 she won the Lady Roddick prize for best sonnet at the Canadian Authors Association poetry competition in Montreal.
Florence Elizabeth Westacott died on 26 February 1966 in Toronto Ontario after a lengthy illness.
Georges Maximilien Antoine Grube, Classicist, Trinity College professor, and active member in the C.C.F. and N.D.P., was born in Antwerp, Belgium, on 3 August 1899, the son of Antoine and Marie Reiners. At the beginning of the Great War in 1914 he immigrated to England where he attended King Edward's High School, Birmingham. He served briefly with the Belgian army towards the end of the war and after the cessation of hostilities he acted as an interpreter to British forces in Belgium. He completed his education at Emmanuel College, Cambridge, where he graduated with a B.A. in classics in 1922 and a M.A. in 1925. It is perhaps by this time that he started generally using the name George Maximilian Antony Grube. He became a naturalized British subject on 25 January 1924, and on 7 August he married in London Gwenyth Deen Macintosh, a fellow graduate in classics at Cambridge.
After four years as a lecturer at the University College of Swansea, Wales, George Grube came to Toronto in 1928 to take the position of Professor of Classics at Trinity College. He acted as head of the Depart¬ment of Classics at Trinity College from 1932 to 1965 and as head of the Graduate Department of Classics at the University of Toronto from 1951 to 1966. He retired from Trinity College in 1968, but was re-appointed as a special lecturer during 1968-69 and became emeritus professor of classics in 1969.
As a classical scholar, G.M.A. Grube is best known as author of <i>Plato's Thought </i>(1935), <i>The Drama of Euripedes </i>(1941), <i>A Greek Critic: Demetrius on Style </i>(1961), and <i>The Greek and Roman Critics </i>(1965), and as translator of Plato's <i>The Republic </i>(1974), a work that continues to be widely used. He also published over 30 articles in various scholarly journals. He was also involved in public affairs; a founding members of the League for Social Reconstruction, he served as president of the Toronto branch in 1934-35, and he was managing editor of the <i>Canadian Forum</i> from 1937 to 1941. His interest in both cultural and political affairs found further scope in writing political pamphlets and in making frequent contributions to the <i>Canadian Forum</i> and the <i>New Commonwealth</i>. He was also a member of the Toronto Labour Council and of the Civil Liberties Association of Toronto.
Grube became a member of the Co-operative Commonwealth Federation (C.C.F.) in 1934; he was elected as the first Ontario vice-president and served as president in the 1940s, was a member of the C.C.F. National Council, and president of the C.C.F. in Ontario. He was elected to serve as trustee for Ward 1 to the Toronto Board of Education in 1942 and 1943. He was the C.C.F. candidate in the riding of Toronto Broadview in the general elections of 1940, 1945, and 1950, but was not successful. In 1961 he was co-chairman of the founding convention of the N.D.P. He wrote numerous articles and pamphlets on the C.C.F. and the N.D.P.
Grube was elected a fellow of the Royal Society of Canada in 1951. His book, <i>The Greek and Roman Critics</i>, was winner of the American Philological Association's Award of Merit in 1965. After his retirement he was honoured with a festschrift, "Studies Presented to G.M.A. Grube on the Occasion of His Seventieth Birthday," published in <i>Phoenix</i> in Spring 1969. In 1973 he was awarded an honorary degree by the University of Victoria and in 1977 was awarded the Canada Coronation Medal. G.M.A. Grube died in Toronto on 13 December 1982.
Gwenyth Deen Macintosh Grube, Classicist, teacher, and active member in the C.C.F. and N.D.P., was born 24 September 1900 in London, England. In 1919 she entered Girton College, University of Cambridge, where she gained Part I of the Classical Tripos in 1921 and Part II in 1922 and received an M.A. degree in Classics. She continued her studies in 1922, doing post-graduate work at Bryn Mawr in Pennsylvania. Gwenyth Macintosh met George Grube at Cambridge, and after their marriage in 1924 she taught Latin and Greek at Bedales, a co-educational boarding school in Hampshire. She came to Canada in 1928 when her husband was appointed a professor at Trinity College. Gwenyth Grube returned to England for the period 1932 to 1934 with her two children in order to teach at Dartington Hall, a progressive school in Totnes, Devon.
A supporter of the Labour Party in England since her college days, Gwenyth Grube joined the C.C.F. in 1934. In the 1950s she was a member of the Ontario C.C.F. Provincial Executive. She ran unsuccessfully in 1945 for election as trustee of the Toronto Board of Education in Ward I, a post her husband had held previously. She was the C.C.F. candidate for the riding of Eglinton in the federal election of 1957. She was always particularly interested in educational and welfare issues and a number of her articles were published in various journals. After her children were adults, she was a part-time teacher at the Royal Ontario Museum in Toronto in the 1950s. Along with Agnes Macphail she was an active member of the Board of the Elizabeth Fry Society. Gwenyth Grube died in Toronto on 24 March 1987.
George and Gwenyth Grube had three children: Antonia (Toni) Joan (m. Swalgren), born in England in 1927, John Deen (1930-2008), born in Toronto and Jennifer Julia (m. Podlecki), born in Toronto in 1935.
George Richard Wilson Knight, professor, writer, critic, actor, Shakespearean expert, was born on 19 October 1897 at Sutton, Surrey, England to George Knight and Caroline Louisa Jackson. Knight attended Dulwhich College, London, from 1904 to 1914. Upon graduation, he worked as a clerk at the Phoenix Insurance Company and then at Alliance Assurance Company until 1916. At the age of 19, Knight enlisted in the army as a motorcycle despatch rider and was deployed to Mesopotamia in1917 (present day Iraq). His battalion was not transferred back to England until 1920. On his return to civilian life he became a mathematics master, teaching at the preparatory schools Seaford House and St. Peter’s in Sussex between 1920 and 1922.
In January of 1922, Knight began his studies of English at St. Edmund Hall at the University of Oxford. He earned a second class from the Honour School of English Language and Literature in the summer of 1923. In the autumn of the same year, he took up the position of a mathematics master at Hawtreys School in Kent where he remained until 1925. In 1926 Knight became the Senior English Master at Dean Close School in Cheltenham, Gloucestershire. His time at the school marks the beginning of his active involvement in theatre productions of Shakespearean plays and his publication of scholarly work as well as novels and short stories. The bulk of his writings pertain to the study of Shakespeare and spiritualism, with a few works dedicated to the study of Byron and Powys. He continued to teach at the school until his appointment as Chancellor Professor of English at the University of Trinity College, Toronto in 1931.
At Trinity College, Knight continued his involvement with the theatre, both directing and acting in numerous Shakespearean plays at Hart House Theatre. In 1934 he was appointed President of the Shakespearean Society in Toronto. In 1940, he returned to England where he gave recitals on
Shakespeare. In 1941, he was became a temporary war replacement at Stowe School, Buckingham, teaching mathematics, geography and English. In 1946 Knight was appointed as a Reader in English at the University of Leeds where he taught a two-year course on World Drama. He also was also a member of the Leeds University Union Theatre Group from 1949, participating in numerous productions of Shakespearean drama. In 1956, he was given a chair as a Professor of English at the University where he remained until his retirement in 1962.
After 1962, Knight continued to publish a variety of academic and biographical material, as well as tour universities in the UK, United States and Canada with guest lectures recitals. In 1965 he was given an Honorary Fellowship at St. Edmund College, Oxford and was awarded Honorary Degrees at the Universities of Sheffield and Exeter in 1966 and 1968 respectively. He lived in Exeter, Devon until his death on 20 March 1985.
Ethel Blanche Ridley, nurse, was born in 1872 in Belleville, Ontario to father Charles Neville Ridley [1825?-1892?], physician, and to mother Elizabeth Ridley [b. 1838]. She entered St. Hilda’s College, University of Trinity College, Toronto, in 1891 and graduated with a B.A. in 1895. She enrolled as a nurse-in-training in New York. By 1897 she was a registered nurse and in 1898 and 1899 she served as a nurse with the United States Army in the Philippines during the Spanish-American War.
In 1900 she joined the staff of the “Hospital for Ruptured and Crippled” (later New York Orthopaedic Hospital) and served until the outbreak of the First World War. Ridley returned to Canada in August 1914 and on 16 September was appointed nursing sister in the Canadian Army Medical Corps (C.A.M.C.). She was stationed at Valcartier, Quebec, for basic training and was promoted to Matron of the No. 2 Canadian Stationary Hospital of the C.A.M.C.
On 22 September 1914 she sailed on the “Franconia” to England. From 1914 to 1919 she served at a number of military hospitals. She was stationed at Le Touquet, France from 7 November 1914 to 20 November 1915, and at hospitals in England, including Granville Canadian Special Hospital at Ramsgate and Buxton between 1916 and 1917. She was subsequently stationed at the Canadian Head Quarters of the Lines of Communication in France in 1918. Ridley was made Matron, Principal Matron, and Matron-in-Chief of the Canadian military nursing staff and received several decorations, including the Star (1914), the Royal Red Cross (1916). She was mentioned in dispatches and appointed Commander, Order of the British Empire in 1918, receiving the C.B.E. in 1919 at a ceremony in Buckingham Palace. She retired from military service later that year.
In 1920, Ridley returned to New York City and rejoined the New York Orthopaedic Hospital, serving as Directress of Nurses from 1924-1942. In 1944 Ridley returned to Canada and settled in Gananoque, Ontario, where she died in 1949.
[Source: George E. Mills, nephew of Ethel Blanche Ridley; A. H. Young, W. A. Kirkwood, eds. The War Memorial Volume of Trinity College, Toronto (Toronto: Printers Guild, 1922); David B. Levine, “The Hospital for the Ruptured and Crippled: William Bradley Coley, Third Surgeon-in- Chief, 1925-1933,” HSS Journal 4.1 (2008), 1–9.]
Elizabeth ‘Betty’ Rose Miriam Dashwood (née Southgate) was a student of St Hilda’s College who graduated with the class of 5T2. Betty Southgate was born on 12 January 1929 in Toronto, Ontario and lived in Rosedale before her father moved the family to England. The Southgate family returned to Canada in 1940 as the Second World War began and once again settled in Rosedale. Dashwood attended Branksome Hall, where she was a sub-prefect, and graduated in 1948. She then attended Trinity College and was very active in college life. A member of the St Hilda’s Athletic Association (serving as secretary in her third year and president in her fourth), she played on the basketball, baseball, and volleyball teams, and was treasurer of the St Hilda’s Literary Institute and secretary of the Trinity Arts and Letters Club in her third year.
After graduating with a B.A. in modern history in 1952 she worked at the Canadian Cancer Society, remaining in the Trinity community. She served as St Hilda’s 5T2 year representative until her death, served on the St Hilda’s Board of Trustees from 1965 to 1969, was a member of Trinity Corporation from 1969 to 2003, served on the executive committee of Corporation, and was a member of the Provost’s Committee. An early member of the Friends of the Library, she remained a committed organizer of the Trinity Book Sale until her death. In recognition of her service to Trinity College, she received the St Hilda’s Alumnae Association Long-Service Award and the U of T Arbor Award in 2002.
Mrs. Dashwood was also very active in her community: she served various roles in the Church of St Simon the Apostle and ran St Simon’s Out of the Cold programme in the early 1990s and St Peter’s Food Bank until her death. She was a long-time active member and board member of the Architectural Conservancy of Ontario. Dashwood was also active politically for the Progressive Conservative Party; in the 1980s she was the federal returning officer for Rosedale for at least two elections and one referendum.
Betty Southgate married her classmate John Dashwood (5T2) in 1957, they had two children: Geoffrey and Monica. Betty Dashwood died on 6 April 2003 at her home in Toronto, Ontario.
Edwin (“Eddie”) Hilyard Charleson, lawyer, was born 25 November 1904 in Ottawa, Ontario and died there on 5 July 1998. The son of Thomas Phillips Charleson and Florence Almon Smith, he attended the Ottawa Collegiate Institute and matriculated at Trinity College, Toronto, in 1922. He graduated in 1926 with a BA and stayed on as Graduate in Residence for one more year. He graduated from the University of Toronto Law School and was called to the bar in 1929. A member of Phi Delta Phi, the International Legal Honor Society, Charleson practiced in Ottawa.
He was a life time member of St. George's Anglican Church and served the Anglican Diocese of Ottawa as Diocesan Solicitor for many years. In the community of Ottawa-Carleton, he was active as Honorary Solicitor for numerous charitable organizations, including the Ottawa Boys' and Girls' Club and the Rotary Club of which he was past president. As a lifelong member of the Liberal Party of Canada, he was prominent in local and national executives and served as an early member of the Board of Governors of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation. He was predeceased by his wife, Roberta Lockhard Henderson, whom he married in 1948.
Edward Cartwright Cayley, educator and Anglican clergyman, was born on 13 February 1864 in Whitby, Upper Canada, and died on 11 April 1921. He attended Trinity College, Toronto, where he was Wellington scholar, Burnside scholar, and Bishop Strachan scholar. He obtained a B.A. in 1885, was awarded an M.A. in 1889 and a D.D. in 1914. E.C. Cayley was professor of divinity at Trinity College from 1892 to 1900, when he was appointed rector of St. Simon’s Church in Toronto. He continued as special lecturer in apologetics at Trinity College. He married Georgina Alice Broughall in 1895.
Derwyn Randolph Grier Owen, Anglican clergyman and administrator, was born on 16 May 1914, the son of Derwyn Owen and Nora Grier Jellet. He attended Ridley College in St. Catharine's from 1928 to 1932 and then Trinity College, where he took honours in Classics, graduating with a B.A. and the Governor General's Medal in 1936. He studied next at Corpus Christi College, Oxford, 1936-1938, and the Union Theological Seminary, New York, 1940-1941. He was ordained deacon in 1941 and priest in 1942 and completed his Ph.D. in Philosophy at the University of Toronto the same year, while teaching at Trinity College. In 1942 he enlisted in the Canadian Army and served as chaplain in the Westminster Regiment, 5th Division, on campaigns in Italy and Holland. He returned to Canada in 1946 and resumed his post as lecturer and head of the Department of Religious Knowledge at Trinity. In 1957 he was elected Provost of Trinity College and served in that capacity until 1971 when he resigned to continue teaching. He served as Professor of Religious Studies until his retirement in 1979. Owen published several books, including Scientism, Man and Religion (1952), Body and Soul (1956), Social Thought and Anglican Theology (1980), and Trinity College: Past, Present and Future (1964).
He married Anne Kathleen Armour in 1942, and they had three children: Laurie, David, and Timothy. He died on 23 April 1997 in Toronto, Ontario.
Clifton Gordon Gardner, Anglican clergyman, was born on September 29, 1915 in St. John’s, Newfoundland, son of W.J Gardner. After obtaining his BA from Trinity College in 1936, Gardner was deaconed in 1939 and earned a Bachelor of Divinity from King’s College at the University of London in 1940.
Gardner was on the clergy list of the Diocese of Oxford from 1939 to 1952, and began as a curate at St Luke’s, Maidenhead. His ministry there was superseded from 1941 to 1946 by service as Chaplain in the Royal Navy Volunteer Reserve. With the help of the Newfoundland Trade Commissioner, Gardner obtained an interview with the Chaplain of the Fleet. Although only 25 years old in March of 1941 (younger than the chaplaincy age minimum of 28 years), he was appointed Probationary Temporary Chaplain to the Royal Naval Barracks at Chatham by mid-April and to the Third Destroyer Flotilla in the Home Fleet of the Royal Navy by mid-May. In 1942 he was appointed to the First Destroyer Flotilla and over the next three years he served as Chaplain on the fleet destroyers HMS Impulsive, HMS Inglefield, and HMS Intrepid and as Chaplain to Destroyers and Small Craft. Some of these destroyers acted as escorts to long-haul Arctic convoys between Britain, the US and Russia and Gardner was on board for four such trips through dangerous waters. In 1945 he was appointed Chaplain to the aircraft carrier HMS Indefatigable of the British Pacific Fleet in Japan, but by the time Gardner reached the Indefatigable the war in the Far East was over. Upon his release from the Royal Navy in 1946, Gardner returned to his ministry at St. Luke’s for one year then became Vicar at St. Peter’s, Maidenhead for five years.
Gardner returned to Canada in 1952 when he became Rector of St. Luke’s Church in St. Thomas, Ontario. In 1956 he was appointed resident Anglican Chaplain at Westminster Veterans Hospital in London, Ontario, where he stayed for 18 years until 1974. While serving at Westminster Hospital, Gardner was active in many clerical areas. From 1960 to 1969 he was an examining Chaplain for Bishop of Huron, the Right Reverend George N. Luxton, and helped prepare candidates for Deacon’s orders. In 1964 he was one of five diocesan clergy appointed as Canons of St. Paul’s Cathedral, London. He also acted as the Clerical Secretary of Huron Synod from 1964 to 1973. Additionally he served as the Secretary of the Diocesan Committee, where he drafted pamphlets on burials, marriage, baptism, confirmation and the duties of Church Wardens for consideration at clergy conferences. Also while at the Diocese of Huron, Gardner acted as Secretary of the Spiritual Advance Committee.
In June 1974, Gardner was inducted as rector of St. Peter’s Church in Dorchester and became Archdeacon of Middlesex, Ontario with 70 parishes to supervise. Two years later, in 1976, the Gardners retired to Saffron Walden in England. In 1977, however, Gardner was still at work in many area parishes and helping in the deanery of most. He officially retired in 1983, and he and his wife travelled extensively for the next ten years until her death in 1993. Gardner returned to helping with services and was an active member of a Bereavement Visiting Group.
Gardner married Elizabeth Kathleen Baker from Yorkshire in 1942. They had a daughter, Elizabeth, in 1944, and a son, Michael. Clifton Gardner died in March of 2009.
Charles Rudolph Feilding, clergyman, educator, and administrator, was born in Whitford, North Wales, on 16 January 1902 to John Basil Feilding (1868-1942) and Emily Margaret (née Tod) Feilding (d. 1955). After living in North Wales and then in London, England, Feilding emigrated with his family to Canada in 1912, living initially in St. Williams in Norfolk County, Ontario. He was educated at Upper Canada College in Toronto and at Barrie Collegiate before attending McGill University and King‟s College, Halifax, graduating with a BA in 1925. Feilding was ordained deacon and priest in the Episcopal Church of Scotland in 1929. He then studied at the General Theological Seminary in New York as a fellow and tutor, studying the New Testament under Dr. B.S. Easton and beginning a lifelong interest in moral and pastoral theology and training. He also began clinical training and therapy by working closely with psychiatrists and other mental health professionals. He graduated in 1935 with a Doctor of Sacred Theology (STD). In the same year, Feilding became the rector of St. Mary‟s Episcopal Church on Staten Island. He married Ann Truslow, daughter of Ernest Truslow of Southport, Connecticut, on 20 August 1935.
In 1940 Feilding returned to Canada as Professor of Moral and Pastoral Theology and Director of Field Education at Trinity College. In 1943 he became a founder of the Toronto Graduate School of Theological Studies, the forerunner of the Toronto School of Theology (1970). In 1946 he became Trinity College‟s first Dean of the Faculty of Divinity. In this position, Feilding instituted a variety of changes to the teaching of theology, including the introduction of a tutorial system, fewer lectures and more seminars, and an emphasis on training through field work.
In 1957 Feilding co-founded the Toronto Institute for Pastoral Training with Dr. J.A. MacFarlane. Upon his resignation as Dean of Divinity in 1961, Feilding took a sabbatical. As a “visiting fellow” at Yale University, he researched trends in church ministry education. This work would result in his 1966 publication, Education for Ministry. Feilding returned to Trinity College to teach in 1964. Around this time he became the secretary for the Commission on Marriage and Related Matters of the General Synod of the Anglican Church of Canada and would play a significant role in the drafting of a new Canon on Marriage (approved in 1965, confirmed in 1967). Along with H.R.S. Ryan, Feilding produced two commentaries on the new Canon, On Marriage in the Church (1965) and Marriage in Church and State (1965). Feilding would continue to serve on the Subcommittee on Marriage and Related Matters through the 1970s.
In 1965, Feilding formed the Canadian Council for Supervised Pastoral Education (now the Canadian Association for Pastoral Practice and Education) with the Reverend A. MacLachlan. The council provided accreditation for training programs. Feilding retired from teaching in 1970 and was appointed Professor Emeritus of Divinity at Trinity College. At this time he became involved with the Canadian Urban Training Programme for Christian Service. In 1972, he directed a study on the role of women in the Parish of St. Thomas in Toronto. Feilding was an early spokesman for the ordination of women in the Anglican Church of Canada.
Charles and Ann Feilding had two children: Goodith Mary Feilding, born on 26 August 1936, and Geoffrey Truslow Feilding, born on 21 April 1939. In 1956 Goodith married the Rev. William Brian Danford Heeney (d. 1983); Geoffrey married Martha Anne Corrigan in 1966. Charles Feilding died on 10 September 1978 in Toronto. Ann Fielding died on 3 October 1997.
William Bleasdell, Anglican clergyman, was born in England in 1817, the son of James Bleasdell and Mary Hodson. He graduated from Trinity College, Dublin (BA 1845, MA 1848). He was ordained deacon in 1845 and priest in 1846. He came to Canada in June 1848 and became rector of St George’s Church in Trenton, Upper Canada. In 1862 he became examining chaplain of the Diocese of Ontario and in 1874 senior canon of St George’s Cathedral in Kingston. As well as several religious and historical publications, Bleasdell was deeply interested in various sciences (particularly geology), and in 1862 he wrote the earliest know study of the largest glacial erratic in Ontario (the Bleasdell Boulder near Glen Miller). In 1876 the University of Trinity College, Toronto, awarded him an honorary doctorate of civil law. He and his wife Agnes had eleven children, three of whom died in infancy. He died at Trenton in 1889.
Dr. Walter Brooks Crowe was a prominent physician in the Trenton, Ontario area. He was born around 1875 in Stockdale, Ont., the eldest son of Jane A. Hagerman and George Crowe, a contractor and builder from the Trenton area, youngest son of the Rev. John Brooks Crowe. He graduated from the Trinity College Medical School in 1896. He subsequently undertook post graduate work in Edinburgh and Scotland and received further qualifications (L.R.C.P. & S. Edin.) (L.F.P. & S. Glas.). After returning to Canada, he first went to Manitoba with a view of settling there, but after two years decided to move back permanently to Trenton. During World War I he served as a medical examiner with the district regiment of the Canadian Army. He was Hastings County coroner for some time and also served as Medical Health Officer of Trenton. In addition, he was active in the Masonic fraternity, and several other societies. Dr. Crowe married Alice May Stevenson, daughter of Dr. John Alexander Stevenson of Trenton, in 1901. They had two children, a son and a daughter. Dr. Crowe died in Trenton, Ontario on March 20, 1957.
Crowe family fonds, Queen’s University Archives;
Obituary, Canada Medical Association Journal, May 1, 1957, vol. 76;
Pioneer Life on the Bay of Quinte, including Genealogies of Old Families and Biographical
Sketches of Represented Citizens (Toronto: Rolph and Clark, [190-?]), 233.
Walter Bayne Geikie, doctor and educator, was born on 8 May 1830 in Edinburgh, Scotland. He was the son of Reverend Archibald Geikie, who brought his family to Canada in 1843. Geikie began to study medicine in 1849 with Dr. John Rolph in Toronto, Ontario, and was licensed by the Medical Board of Upper Canada (Ontario) in July 1851. After spending two years on a full post-graduate course at Jefferson College in Philadelphia, he took his MD and returned to Canada. He practised in Bond Head from 1851 until 1955 when he moved to Aurora in the County of York and set up a large and successful practice. He married Frances Miriam Woodhouse in February 1854. They had six children, two of whom died in infancy. The four who survived were Walter Woodhouse, Archibald James, Annie Laura, and Frances Ethel.
In October 1856, Dr. Rolph, Dean of the Victoria Medical Faculty at Victoria College in Cobourg until his death in 1970, asked Dr. Geikie to join the department as a professor. Geikie accepted and the two doctors made a partnership agreement in 1857. Dr. Geikie lectured on Materia Medica and Therapeutics, and Obstetrics and Diseases of Women and Children. During these years, Dr. Geikie also taught Anatomy, Descriptive and Surgical, Principles and Practice of Surgery, and Practice of Medicine and Clinical Medicine, the latter at Toronto General Hospital. In 1867 Dr. Geikie returned to Great Britain to do post-graduate work and take the examinations of the Royal College of Physicians of London, and the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh.
Just before his death in 1870, Dr. Rolph resigned his position at Victoria Medical Faculty and Dr. Geikie resigned shortly thereafter. He then joined the Medical Faculty of Trinity University. By 1871 Trinity Medical Faculty, which had existed previously from 1850-56, was re-established as a department of Trinity University. Dr. Geikie became Dean in 1878 and continued in that capacity, as well as being on the consulting staff of the Toronto General Hospital and the Hospital for Sick Children, until 1903. That year, after expressing his opposition to the College's amalgamation with the University of Toronto Medical Faculty, Dr. Geikie resigned. His health failed gradually over his final years and he died in Toronto on 12 January 1917. He was buried in Mount Pleasant Cemetery.
Sheldon Paul Zitner was a Professor of English at Trinity College and a published poet. He was born on April 20, 1924 in Brooklyn, New York, the eldest son of Dora and Morris Zitner and brother of Robert J. Zitner (b. 1932). He was educated at Townsend Harris High School (Flushing, New York) and subsequently enrolled in Brooklyn College at the age of 16. After three years he enlisted in the army and served in the United States Air Corps in the South Pacific during the Second World War. Upon his return he continued his studies and received his BA (1947), an MA from New York University (1948) and a PhD from Duke University (1955). In 1951 Prof. Zitner became an assistant professor at Hampton Institute (now Hampton University) in Hampton, Virginia. In 1957 he took a position in the English department at Grinnell College (Grinnell, Iowa) where he held several positions, becoming the Carter-Adams Professor of Literature (1963) and Roberts Honour Professor (1964). He also served as the chairman of the Department of English (1960, 1962-63) and the chairman of the Division of Humanities (1964-68).
In 1969 Zitner came to Trinity College. His research interests included Shakespeare, Renaissance literature (especially drama), literary criticism, and contemporary poetry. He taught a variety of courses at the undergraduate and graduate levels and supervised numerous doctoral theses. He published extensively in academic publications and edited three scholarly editions: Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing (Oxford University Press 1993), Francis Beaumont’s The Knight of the Burning Pestle (Manchester University Press 1984), and Edmund Spenser’s The Mutabilitie Cantos (Thomas Nelson and Sons, 1968). During his career Prof. Zitner took on many administrative and committee positions within the Department of English and was a member of professional organizations including the Shakespeare Association of America, the Toronto Renaissance and Reformation Colloquium, the Association of Canadian University Teachers of English, the Northeastern Modern Language Association, and the Society for Textual Scholarship.
Upon his retirement in 1989, Zitner began to write poetry full-time. His first book of poetry, The Asparagus Feast, was published by McGill-Queen’s University Press in 1999, followed by Before We Had Words (MQUP) in 2002, The Hunt on the Lagoon (Goose Lane Editions) in 2005, and a small chapbook, Missing Persons (Junction Books), in 2003. His poems were published in various literary publications including The Walrus, Fiddlehead, and The Nation. In the years prior to his death, he began working on a translation project with Herbert Batt, “Chinese Vernacular Poetry, 1919-1949”, which remains unpublished. He maintained strong ties with Trinity College after his retirement and was an active member of the Friends of the Library. In 2001 he received an honorary doctorate of sacred letters from the College in recognition of his many years of teaching.
Sheldon Zitner married Dona M. Waldhauser of Brooklyn, New York in 1947 or 1948. Their daughterr, Julia was born 15 March 1963. Julia Zitner married Duncan Steel of Wirksworth, Derbyshire, England in and they have one daughter, Rebecca Steel, born 2005. Sheldon Paul Zitner died on April 26, 2005, in Toronto.
William McMurray, clergyman, was born 19 September 1810 in Portadown, Northern Ireland, the son of Bradshaw and Mary McMurray. The family moved in 1811 to York, Upper Canada (now Toronto, Ontario). At the age of eight William McMurray became a pupil of John Strachan. On completion of his studies at Strachan's school, he took in private pupils. In 1830 he commenced theological training under Strachan and served as a catechist in Mimico, Weston, Thornhill, and York Mills. In 1832 the Society for Converting and Civilizing the Indians and Propagating the Gospel among the Destitute Settlers in Upper Canada sent McMurray, not yet of canonical age for ordination, to act as catechist and lay reader at Sault Ste Marie. He was also appointed Indian agent by Lieutenant Governor Sir John Colborne.
In August 1833 McMurray was ordained Deacon by Bishop Charles James Stewart of Quebec at Frelighsburg [Quebec], Lower Canada. On his return to Sault Ste Marie McMurray was married for the first time, 26 September 1833, to Charlotte Johnston, daughter of trader John Johnston and granddaughter of an Ojibwa chief (she was also known as Onge-Buno- Quay). They had three sons and a daughter.
With Charlotte interpreting for her husband, McMurray was able to translate the catechism into Ojibwa. His rendition was printed in 1834 and his efforts created converts who spread the Gospel at Michipicoten. However, a rift developed between McMurray and Angus Bethune of the Hudson's Bay Company, which was also established at Michipicoten, when McMurray's advice to the natives was to the detriment of company business. He argued that their work manning the company boats interrupted their instruction, prevented them from working the land for crops, required them to work on Sundays, and paid less than they could earn by fishing.
In 1837 Sir Francis Bond Head succeeded Sir John Colborne as Lieutenant Governor and promptly stopped government interference with the native population of Sault Ste Marie. His family ill and his position compromised, McMurray resigned in 1838 and became curate to the ailing John Miller at Ancaster and Dundas. Strachan, now Bishop of the diocese of Toronto, ordained McMurray priest on 12 April 1840. McMurray became rector of Ancaster and Dundas in May of 1841.
In 1852 Trinity College opened in Toronto and McMurray was deputed to tour the United States and solicit funds for the new Anglican institution. His efforts were appreciated by the college and by donors. Columbia College in New York City awarded him an honorary DD. On this and subsequent trips the following year, McMurray succeeded in raising ten thousand dollars for Trinity College. Trinity bestowed an honorary LLD on him in 1857. McMurray was delegated by Trinity's council to tour England for building funds in 1864 and preached to a crowd of seven thousand in St. Paul's Cathedral (London) on the necessity of early religious education. He netted nearly four thousand pounds in donations.
In 1857 he had been made rector of Niagara-on-the-Lake and built an impressive rectory. However, the county seat was moved to St. Catharines shortly thereafter and the congregation was reduced by more than half. In 1867 the parish was forced to issue fifteen debentures to cover the debt of the rectory and McMurray took twelve of those himself. In this personal financial crisis he sought assistance from friends he had made in England. McMurray replaced his friend Thomas Brock Fuller as rural dean of Lincoln and Welland when Fuller replaced Alexander Neil Bethune as archdeacon of Niagara. McMurray had solicited votes in favour of Alexander Neil Bethune for the bishopric at Kingston. Fuller, elected to the See of Niagara, collated McMurray as archdeacon in 1875.
McMurray was married for the second time to Amelia Baxter on 4 November 1879. He died 19 May 1894 in Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario.
- Corporate body
From 1871-1903, Trinity Medical College thrived as a proprietary medical school associated with Trinity College prior to Trinity’s amalgamation with the University of Toronto in 1904.
Trinity Medical College can trace its beginnings to the Medical Faculty at Trinity College, which existed from 1850 to 1856. Despite the apparent success of this early Medical Faculty, all six founding members resigned in 1856, most likely due to tensions around the strict requirement that all Trinity students be members of the United Church of England and Ireland (the Anglican church).
Re-establishment of a medical school at Trinity was considered by committees of the Trinity Corporation in 1863, 1866, and 1867 but nothing came of these efforts. In 1869-70, further discussions resulted in the provisional appointment of four of the founding members of the former Medical Faculty as a Board of Medical Examiners for Trinity College (Dr. James Bovell, Dr. Norman Bethune, Dr. William Hallowell, and Dr. Edward M. Hodder). In addition, the statute necessitating declaration as a member of the Anglican church was amended in such a way that the requirement still stood but in practice students did not have to make the declaration, effectively allowing non-Anglican students to register at Trinity.
In 1871, the four examiners were appointed as the first professors of the reconstituted Trinity Medical Faculty, and Dr. W.B. Geikie, eventually Dean of the Medical College, was appointed as one of two new examiners. By the end of 1871, a new building was erected on a site close to the Toronto General Hospital and several professors had been added to the faculty. Over the next several years, under the diligent administration of Dr. Geikie, the Trinity faculty developed a strong reputation as a provider of quality medical education and training.
In 1877, influenced by the alleged actions of the rival Toronto School of Medicine to effectively block Trinity students from competing for University of Toronto honours and prizes, the Trinity Medical Faculty, with Trinity College consent, applied for and obtained from the Ontario Legislature an Act of Incorporation as an independent teaching body called Trinity Medical School. Incorporation gave to Trinity Medical School the power to affiliate with any university granting medical degrees, thus allowing their students to take examinations at any degree-granting University they chose. In practice, however, most Trinity medical students continued to take their exams at Trinity. However, both the newly-independent Trinity Medical School and Trinity College continued to view the medical school as the medical faculty of the college.
By 1879 a new wing was built onto the Trinity Medical School facilities, but there was a growing view on the part of the provincial government that competing proprietary medical schools could no longer provide satisfactory medical education that increasingly required additional teaching facilities and newer, more complicated and costly equipment. The political shift toward one strong publicly-financed medical teaching faculty in Toronto was exemplified in 1887 when the Minister of Education invited Trinity Medical School and the Toronto School of Medicine to come together as the Medical Faculty of the University of Toronto. The Toronto School of Medicine accepted the offer, but Trinity Medical School refused.
Perhaps in support of their medical school’s view that independent medical education could continue to provide everything required, the Trinity Corporation provided some of their limited funds for improving teaching facilities and purchasing equipment and upgraded the medical school faculty to college status in 1888: Trinity Medical School became Trinity Medical College.
Throughout the 1890s the movement toward federation with the University of Toronto grew stronger. By 1900, faced with mounting deficits and falling registration, it was clear that Trinity would work towards federation with the University of Toronto. Dr. W.B. Geikie, now Dean of the Medical College, and the Corporation of Trinity Medical College, remained strongly opposed to federation and the amalgamation of their Medical College with University of Toronto’s Medical Faculty. In 1902, ongoing discussions between the Corporation of Trinity Medical College and a committee of the Trinity Corporation resulted in an agreement to reinstate the Medical College as the Medical Faculty of Trinity University and provide funds for a proposed new building.
However, the continued existence of an independent Trinity University and its medical school was not to be. In April 1903, the Medical College surrendered its Charter to Trinity University to be held in trust, which enabled the Trinity Corporation to act for the Medical College in amalgamation discussions. In July 1903 the Trinity Corporation formally constituted the Corporation of Trinity Medical College as the Medical Faculty of Trinity University. At the same time the Trinity Corporation stated that should federation with the University of Toronto occur, the Medical Faculty of Trinity University should amalgamate with the Medical Faculty at the University of Toronto.
Although the final agreement on federation did not occur until October 1904, the medical faculties were amalgamated in 1903. In June of that year the resignations of all Trinity Medical College staff were received. The faculty members, with the exception of Dean Geikie, became members of the Faculty of the University of Toronto and the amalgamated faculties met for the first time in October 1903.
Spragge, George W. “Trinity Medical College” Ontario Historical Society: Ontario History Vol. LVIII, Number 2, June 1966. Additional administrative history information found in Amalgamation files in Series 1.
- Corporate body
The Trinity College Senate was established in 1995 when revisions were made to the statutes that abolished the existing committee structure and put in place a bicameral system of governance by creating a Board of Trustees to manage and control the property, business, and affairs of the College and a Senate to establish the academic policy of the College. This change came into effect after a recommendation by the Steering Committee to improve College governance and administrative structures. In the fall of 1993 a working group was formed to rewrite the College’s statutes and certain regulations, a document which was then submitted for approval to Corporation on 4 May 1995 where it was unanimously approved.
The Senate consists of fellows of the College, members of Corporation, members of Convocation, Divinity Associates, a member of the St Hilda’s College Board of Trustees, divinity and non-divinity students, the Provost, the College Librarian, the Executive Secretary of Convocation, the Registrar, the Chaplain, the Dean of Arts, the Dean of Divinity, the Bursar, the Dean of Students and one don to be selected by agreement at the first meeting of each academic year of the Deans and the Dons.
The Senate took over the function of the College Council and is responsible for determining the academic policy of the College, including the establishment, alteration, or elimination of academic programmes, determining the requirements for degrees of Trinity College, recommending the appointment of associates and fellows, and determining standards for the admission of students. The Senate, together with the Board of Trustees, is also responsible for appointing committees and working groups to develop proposals for matters of shared interest and can appoint subcommittees and delegate powers to them.
William K. Rolph was born in Toronto in 1917 to W. Frank and Maidie Rolph and studied history at Trinity College from 1936-1940, receiving a BA in 1940. (Rolph was the nephew of Dr Frederick Whitney Rolph who graduated from Trinity with his BA in 1901 and his MD, CM in 1905.) W.K. Rolph then attended Brown University where he received an MA in history in 1941 and a PhD in Canadian and American history in 1950. Rolph specialized in the study of agrarian movements and published Henry Wise Wood of Alberta through the University of Toronto Press in 1950. Rolph taught history at the University of Western Ontario, New York University, the University of Saskatchewan, and Tulane University before moving to Australia with his wife in 1952 to take a position as Research Fellow in the Department of Political Science at the Australian National University. While in Australia Rolph became ill and died suddenly on 23 December 1953.
William Kirby Rolph married Ruth Cooper in 1945
Stephen Reynolds was an Anglican priest and a Professor of Theology at Trinity College. He was born on 6 August 1951 in Mineola, New York, son of Andrew and Mary (O’Brien) Reynolds. A graduate of the University of New Hampshire (1973), he attended the Faculty of Divinity at Trinity College and received his MDiv in 1978. He was ordained deacon and then priest the same year at the Cathedral Church of St. John the Baptist, St. John’s, Newfoundland. In 1981 he moved back to Toronto and took up responsibilities in a series of congregations, including Grace Church on the Hill, Trinity College Chapel, the Church of St. Mary Magdalene (SMM), and Church of the Redeemer. He also enrolled in the ThD program at Trinity College, completing his degree in 1989. During this time he was a Tutor of Theology, occasional lecturer, and in his final year the Sidney Childs Fellow in Divinity. From 1995 until his death he was Assistant Professor of Systematic Theology. A major publication for the Anglican Church of Canada, <i>For All the Saints: Prayers and Readings for Saints’ Days according to the Calendar of The Book of Alternative Services</i>, was published in 1995.
Reynolds married Mary Virginia Hawken in 1978. Their daughter, Hannah Elizabeth, was born in 1989. A diabetic for most of his life, Stephen Reynolds became acutely ill during the winter of 2010-11 and died on 12 March 2011 at his home in Toronto.
- Corporate body
The Trinity College Literary Institute was founded in 1854 with the amalgamation of the Debating Society and The Union. The student debating society of the Diocesan Theological Institute at Cobourg started sometime between 1842 and 1849. The first extant minutes from 20 April 1849 refer to the "yearly proceedings" being closed. This statement implies that it had existed at least since the Fall of 1848. The "Cobourg Star" dated 5 April 1848 reports the founding of a debating society in the town the previous evening. However, it is not mentioned as being associated with the Theological Institution. There is also some reason to believe that the Society was founded early in 1846, when the Diocesan Theological Institute was reorganized and expanded. By the summer of 1849, the Society had eighteen members and was holding weekly debates. A room was set aside for it at Cobourg, heated in winter by a wood stove. A student Union was formed shortly after the opening of Trinity College on Queen Street (1852) in Toronto.
The Trinity College Literary Institute is one of the student governments of Trinity College and has constitutional authority over specific traditional events held at the College by the students, most notably the regular debates. According to the constitution, "[t]he objects of the Institute shall be the fostering of cultural activities and the encouragement of public speaking."
According to the revised and amended "Constitution of the Trinity College Literary Institute" of 1974, all graduates and undergraduates of Trinity College are Active Members of the Trinity College Literary Institute, popularly known as The Lit. Honorary Members consist of Former Members of the Institute, the Provost, Professors, Lecturers and Fellows of Trinity College and anyone elected as such by a vote of two-thirds of the Members present at an Ordinary meeting. Life Members consist of former members of Trinity College who have paid a requisite fee.
The Lit enables several legislated committees or curatorial positions (some now obsolete), namely: The Opposition Committee, The Debates Committee, The Constitution Committee, The St. Hilda's Open House Committee, The Conversazione Committee, The Junior Common Room Curator, The Magazine Committee, The Rigby Room Curator, The TCLI Dinner Committee, The Art Committee, and The Music Committee. The Lit also awards the Trinity College Literary Pendants, the 4T5 Debating Trophy, the Literary Institute Trophy, and the
The permanent officers are the Honorary President, the Speaker, the Deputy Speaker, and the Treasurer. The Lit is governed by a Council consisting of a Prime Minister, Government House Leader, Clerk of the House, Keeper of the Mace, and two Councillors who are First Year students.
[Sources: "Constitution of the Trinity College Literary Institute" revised and amended 1974;
"The Reminiscences of Arthur Jarvis"; "A History of Trinity College Toronto 1852-1952"]