Showing 30 results

Archival description
University of Toronto. Department of Philosophy fonds
Print preview View:

University of Toronto. Department of Philosophy

The materials in this accession, transferred from the University of Toronto's Department of Philosophy, consist mostly of the papers of Fulton H. Anderson, who was chairman of the Department of Philosophy from 1946 to 1962. Also included are some of the papers of George S. brett, who was Chariman of the same department prior to Anderson. The covering dates of the whole accession are 1912-1958.

This material has been divided into four general categories:

I. Chairmanship Papers -- Anderson's and Brett's correspondence in their capacity as Chairman of the Department of Philosophy.

II. Professional Papers -- Correspondence, class notes, and other material relating to Anderson's and Brett's roles as Professors of Philosophy.

III. Philosophy Papers -- Manuscripts, book reviews, drafts of articles and correspondence reflecting Anderson's vocation as a professional philosopher.

IV. Personal Papers -- Anderson's tax returns, insurance claims, and some personal correspondence.

The folders of material in the seven boxes have been numbered consecutively from 1-377 for easy reference. The following pages of this finding aid outline in greater detail the scope and content of material in each of the above-mentioned four general divisions.

University of Toronto. Department of Philosophy

Contains correspondence, subject and financial files of the Graduate and Undergraduate Departments; records relating to appointments and committees; correspondence with Dept. of Ethics, Division of University Extension, Library, colleges and other universities during the chairmanship of Thomas Anderson Goudge.

Chairmanship Papers (Folders 1-274)

This series contains 3 sub-series:
Sub-series 1: Applications for teaching positions, grants, scholarships, and other financial aid
Sub-series 2: Student Inquiries concerning grades, admission policies, and thesis and degree requirements
Sub-series 3: Other Papers arising from the Chairmanship of the Department of Philosophy