Subseries 2 - Program notes for Colgrass' compositions

Identity area

Reference code

OTUFM 64-C-2


Program notes for Colgrass' compositions


  • [1957-1999] (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

4 cm of textual records

Context area

Name of creator


Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Subseries consists of program notes for Michael Colgrass' compositions, written by Colgrass, and script notes that Colgrass used to introduce compositions from the stage. Subseries includes program and/or script notes for the following compositions: Arctic Dreams, As Quiet As, Auras, Concertino for timpani, Déjà vu, Delta, A Flute in the Kingdom of Drums and Bells, Folklines, Hammer and bow, Memento, New People, Night of the Raccoon, The Schubert Birds, Snow Walker, Strangers, Te Tuma Te Papa, Urban Requiem, Variations for Four Drums and Viola, Wild Riot of the Shaman's Dreams, and Winds of Nagual.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Notes are arranged in alphabetical order by title of composition.

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Uploaded finding aid

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area


Date range estimated based on dates of compositions.

Alternative identifier(s)

Physical storage

Box 31

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used

Dates of creation revision deletion




Accession area

Retrieval Code

  • Box: 064/031

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Related places