Fonds 0076 - University of Toronto. Department of Political Science fonds

Identity area

Reference code

UTA 0076


University of Toronto. Department of Political Science fonds


  • 1967-1983 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

8.6 m of textual records

Context area

Name of creator


Administrative history

The Department of Political Science was established in 1892. In 1924, the Department was renamed the Department of Political Economy, but in 1982, was split into two new departments: the Department of Economics and the Department of Political Science.

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

This fonds contains 2 accessions.

A1986-0042: Contains administrative files of successive chairmen of the department
A2017-0034: Contains PhD student files for the years 1998-2006

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Restricted; Subject to review under "Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act"

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used




Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Related places