Electronic Music Studios of Victoria University (Wellington, N.Z.)

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Electronic Music Studios of Victoria University (Wellington, N.Z.)

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



Douglas Lilburn developed the Electronic Music Studios of Victoria University of Wellington in 1963, leading to the first generation of electronic music composers in New Zealand, including Jack Body, Ross Harris, John Rimmer, John Cousins, and Denis Smalley. The Studios moved from the Hunter Building to the School of Music in 1980, where they have remained, with additional spaces added and a refurbishment in 2015.


Wellington, New Zealand

Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier


Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Created March 26, 2020.




Electroacoustic and recording studios, New Zealand School of Music, Victoria University of Wellington.

Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places