University of Illinois (Urbana-Champaign campus). Electronic Music Studio

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

University of Illinois (Urbana-Champaign campus). Electronic Music Studio

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



Lejaren Hiller established the electronic music studio at the University of Illinois in 1958. It was the first electro-acoustic facility in the United States of America. After Hiller left for the State University of New York at Buffalo, Herbert Brün took over as artistic director of the studio and James Beauchamp became the technical director. From 1969, Beauchamp was the director the studio, followed by Scott Wyatt in 1976. Wyatt remained the director for forty years, until his retirement in 2016. Eli Fieldsteel is now director of the Experimental Music Studios.


Champaign, Illinois
Urbana, Illinois

Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Created March 30, 2020.




Experimental Music Studios, School of Music, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places