Subseries 1 - Faculty reference files

Identity area

Reference code

OTUFM 04-D-1


Faculty reference files


  • 1947-2010 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

ca. 75 cm of textual records

Context area

Name of creator

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Subseries consists of reference files for various staff and faculty at the University of Toronto Faculty of Music. These files were maintained by the promotions office (primarily by Edith Binnie, promotions officer, 1963-1984) and used in the creation of promotional material, including the Faculty's newsletter. Files include memorandums, correspondence, contracts for performances outside of the Faculty, news clippings about activities at the Faculty, and reports on activities and special projects.

Subseries includes files on the following individuals and ensembles: William Aide, Michael Albano, Amici, Raffi Armenian, John Arpin, Gianetta Baril, Lee Bartel, John Beckwith, Boris Berlin, Melvin Berman, Edith Ann Binnie, Douglas Bodle, Russell Braun, Dennis Brott, Walter Buczynski, James Campbell, Ronald Chandler, Stephen Chenette, Gustav Ciamaga, Martha Collins, Steve Dann, Victor Danchenko, Andrew Dawes, Alex Dean, Bernard Diamant, Daniel Domb, Mark DuBois, John Edwards, David Elliott, Barry Elmes, Robin Engelman, Robert Falck, Victor Feldbrill, Lorand Fenyves, Fenyves-Orloff-Parr Trio, Harry Freedman, Ann Cooper Gay, Rivka Golani, Nicholas Goldschmidt, John Greer, Gryphon Trio, Doreen Hall, Christos Hatzis, John Hawkins, Nancy Hermiston, David Hetherington, Pierre Hetu, Derek Holman, Andrew Hughes, Barney Ingraham, Elmer Iseler Singers, Jacques Israelievitch, Wayne Jeffery, Irene Jessner, Gaynor Jones, Eli Kassner, Talivaldis Kenins, Patricia Kern, James Kippen, Lothar Klein, Zoltan Kodaly, Norbert Kraft, Anton Kuerti, Gary Kulesha, Jeanne Lamon, Rosemarie Landry, Lorne Lofsky, Judy Loman, Che Anne Loewen, Boris Lysenko, Lorna MacDonald, Ernest MacMillan, Rika Maniates, Stacey McCartney, Rob McConnell, Lois McDonall, Timothy McGee, Deborah Milsom, Thomas Monahan, Oskar Morawetz, Carl Morey, Mike Murley, Daniel Neff, Nexus, Phil Nimmons, Harvey Olnick, Orford String Quartet, Vladimir Orloff, Patricia Parr, Dennis Patrick, Roy Patterson, Paul Pedersen, Joel Quarrington, Louis Quilico, Stephen Ralls, Doreen Rao, Erika Raum, Paul Read, Gary Relyea, Godfrey Ridout, Eugene Rittich, Shauna Rolston, George Sawa, Ezra Schabas, Pat Shand, St. Lawrence String Quartet, Nora Shulman, Suzanne Shulman, Pierre Souvairan, Scott St. John, Richard Summers, David Tanner, Ivars Taurins, Colin Tilney, Toronto Consort, Joaquin Valdepenas, Cameron Walter, John Weinzweig, William Wright, David Zafer.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Files are arranged in alphabetical order by last name.

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

Physical storage

Boxes 6-12

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used

Dates of creation revision deletion




Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Related places